Sunday, January 4, 2015

4 January 1920 - First Blood In The Battle Of Belgium

On 4 January 1920, Standard Liège claimed the first victory in their rivalry with Anderlecht with a 1-0 Belgian second division win in Brussels. It was the second meeting of the two sides, with the first ending in a 2-2 draw on 19 October 1919 in Liège.

The rivalry is the most popular in Belgium, with the country divided between Les Rouches of Liège and Les Mauves of Anderlecht. Since that first loss, Anderlecht have been the more successful side. Of their 163 meetings, Anderlecht has won 74 and Liège 46, with 43 draws.

The disparity is even more pronounced away from the derby, with Les Mauves winning 33 Belgian First Division titles, 9 Belgian Cups, and 12 Belgian Super Cups. They have also had success in Europe with 2 Cup Winners' Cups, one UEFA Cup, and two European Super Cups.

Liège, meanwhile, have won 10 First Division titles, 6 Belgian Cups, 4 Belgian Super Cups, and one Cup Winners' Cup.

No comments:

Post a Comment