Thursday, September 5, 2013

5 September 1882 - The Spark Of Spurs

On 5 September 1882, Tottenham Hotspur formed as an offshoot of the Hotspur Cricket Club and went on to secure a host of domestic and European honors.

According to an early club history, the Hotspur Cricket Club issued subscriptions to their new football branch on 5 September 1882. The funds from those subscriptions, "augmented by a small sum from the cricket club," were used to purchase equipment, including wood for the goal posts, corner flags, and a ball. Originally named "Hotspur FC," the existence of an earlier club by that name promoted the change to Tottenham Hotspur.

The new club joined the Southern League for the 1896-97 season and won the title in 1900. They followed that by winning the FA Cup in 1901, becoming the first team from outside the Football League to do so since that league was formed.

They were elected into the Football League's Second Division for the 1908-09 season, then reached the top flight the following season. Spurs won the league in 1951, then again in 1961 as part of the 20th century's first Double. In 1963, they became the first British team to win a European trophy by lifting the Cup Winner's Cup over Atl├ętico Madrid.

Since then, they have added two UEFA Cup titles (1972 and 1984), and have amassed a total of eight FA Cups, four League Cups, and seven Charity Shields.

No comments:

Post a Comment