Thursday, October 3, 2013

3 October 1999 - So Technically, It Was Their First One

On 3 October 1999, Club Necaxa won their second CONCACAF Champions Cup, beating LD Alajuelense 2-1.

The Costan Ricans were the more experienced side, having appeared in three previous finals and winning it in 1986, but Necaxa had been there more recently, finishing as runners-up in 1996 (they also reached it in 1975, when they won it during their brief incarnation as Atlético Español).

Necaxa barely reached the tournament in 1999 after beating the LA Galaxy on penalties in a qualifying playoff. Once there, they needed another penalty shootout to advance over Saprissa in the quarterfinals, then beat DC United 3-1 in the semifinals to face Alajuelense at Sam Boyd Stadium just outside Las Vegas, Nevada.

There, Alajuelense took a first-half lead through a Josef Miso penalty in the 33rd minute, but the Mexicans came back in the second half with goals from Álex Aguinaga (46') and Sergio Vázquez to take the trophy. It remains their last appearance in the final, while Alajuelense returned and won it in 2004.

No comments:

Post a Comment