Monday, May 23, 2011

23 May 1937 - Glory Comes To The Girondins

On 23 May 1937, Bordeaux won their first national title. They have since gone on to become one of France's most successful clubs, with a silverware collection that includes six top flight titles and three French Cups.

Founded in 1881 as Gironde Omnisports, the club originally included a variety of sports including gymnastics, shooting, swimming, rowing, and boxing. They added football in 1910, but dropped the sport after a year. They picked it back up for good in 1919.

Their first national title came under president Olivier Lhose-Clos, whose tenure began in 1934. In 1937, Bordeaux advanced to the French Amateur Final against FC Scionzier. Played at the Stade de Colombes in Paris as a prelude to an international match between France and Ireland, Bordeaux won 2-1.

They followed that trophy with their first Coupe de France title in 1940, then won the league in 1950. They enjoyed their most successful period in the 1980s, winning three league titles (1984, 1985, 1987) and two more French Cups (1986, 1987). Bordeaux won their most recent trophy in 2009 with their sixth league title.

No comments:

Post a Comment