Tuesday, March 13, 2012

13 March 2011 - Brisbane Sinks The Mariners

On 13 March 2011, the Brisbane Roar recovered from a two-goal deficit to claim the A-League title on penalties over the Central Coast Mariners.

The win capped a remarkable season for Brisbane, who had gone undefeated since September 12, finishing the regular season with a record of 18 wins, eleven draws, and only one loss. In their two matches against Central Coast, they scored eight goals, winning 1-5 and drawing 3-3.

When the teams met in the Grand Final, neither side managed to find the net for the first 90 minutes. That changed in the first period of extra time, as Mariners went up 2-0 with goals from forward Adam Kwasnik (96') and midfielder Oliver Bozanic (103'). But the Roar pulled one back in the second period, with substitute striker Henrique beating Mariners goalkeeper Matthew Ryan in the 117th minute. Then, in the final minute, midfielder Erik Paartalu scored the equalizer.

In the ensuing penalty shootout, Brisbane keeper Michael Theoklitos saved two of Central Coast's first four shots to keep his team up 3-2. Henrique then stepped up to take Brisbane's fourth kick and beat Ryan once more for the win, claiming their first league title.

Brisbane's unbeaten streak continued until November 2011, lasting a league record 36 matches.

No comments:

Post a Comment