Sunday, June 21, 2015

21 June 1970 - Brazil Literally Wins The World Cup

On 21 June 1970, Brazil became the first team to win three World Cup trophies, beating Italy 4-1 in that year's Final. In that match, Pelé became the first (and to date only) player to win three trophies and Brazil manager Mário Zagallo became the first person to win trophies as a player and coach.

Playing before a crowd of 107,412 at the Estadio Azteca in Mexico City, Pelé opened the scoring with a powerful 18th-minute header. Italy found a first-half equalizer in the 37th minute thanks to confusion between Brazilian keeper Félix and defender Hércules Brito. As the keeper rushed forward to stop the Italian attack, Brito charged in and knocked the ball away, allowing Italian forward Roberto Boninsegna to slot it into an open net.

Level at 1-1 at the break, the second half belonged to Brazil. Gérson put them up 2-1 with a low driving shot from outside the box in the 66th minute. Five minutes later, a long pass found Pelé in the box and he headed the ball down into the path of the charging Jairzinho, who bundled it into the net. The scoring ended in the 86th minute as a precise Brazilian build-up involving eight different players resulted in a Pelé pass to captain Carlos Alberto, who blasted the ball home from about 10 yards out. It was a brilliant example of Brazil's now famous style of play.

With their third World Cup title, Brazil were allowed to keep the trophy. Unfortunately, it was stolen in 1983 and has never been recovered.

No comments:

Post a Comment